All Details to Check on Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022

With just two weeks left to when RWC Sevens 2022 live kicks off in Cape Town, we give you the details on what you can be expecting.

On September 9, the 40 top women’s and men’s international teams will play at Cape Town determined to leave their footprints upon Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022.

New Zealand head to South Africa as champions for the second time in both the women’s and male’s tournaments following they won the Black Ferns Sevens and All Blacks Sevens created history with their performances in San Francisco four years ago.

Both Kiwi teams will need to perform at their very best for them to win their titles, however there are the double the men’s Olympic gold medallists Fiji as well as female Rio Olympic gold-medallists Australia as well as host South Africa among those keen to win their respective titles.

With just two weeks to be before RWC Sevens 2022 kicks off at Cape Town Stadium, we provide the insider information about the famous tournament and the history behind it.


The famous Cape Town Stadium will be the venue of host for RWC Sevens 2022. It was built in 2010 for the FIFA World Cup, it is the venue for Cape Town Sevens. HSBC Cape Town Sevens and has witnessed record-breaking attendances at the sporting event.

Cape Town Stadium also hosted the three tests as well as two tour games – for the British and Irish Lions tour of South Africa in 2021. The Springboks took the series by a score of 2-1.

In February of 2020 the stadium hosted the Guinness World Record crowd for an exhibition tennis game of 51,954 people as Roger Feder and Rafael Nadal participated at this Match in Africa.

HOW MANY TEAMS ARE been able to pass?

Twelve teams – – four women’s and eight males’ – have been pre-qualified to play in the RWC Sevens 2022 thanks to their performance in the previous event at San Francisco.

New Zealand, France, Australia and Australia, France, New Zealand and USA secured their spots to play in Cape Town by reaching the women’s semi-finals of the RWC Sevens 2018. The hosts will join them in the coming months. South Africa, who were 14th in the last round four years ago.

An additional eleven women’s squads have secured of their participation in RWC Sevens 2022 through regional qualifying. They are Japan, China, Fiji, Brazil, Colombia, Canada, Madagascar, England, Ireland, Poland and Spain.

In the meantime, the men’s RWC Sevens 2018 quarter-finalists New Zealand, England, South Africa, Fiji, Argentina and the USA, France and Scotland were guaranteed a place in the draw.

The identity of 16 regional qualifiers for men is now recognized. Hong Kong, Korea, Australia, Samoa, Tonga, Uruguay, Chile, Canada, Jamaica, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Germany, Ireland, Portugal and Wales have secured their spot at this year’s showpiece tournament.


Similar to San Francisco four years ago both the men’s and women’s tournaments will follow with a unique ‘winner takes all knockout format.

The 16 women’s teams that will play in Cape Town have been seeded by the points earned during the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series between between 2020 and 2022.

Men’s teams that are placed from 9th to 24th will play in a pre-round 16 with the winners of these tie-breakers taking on with the best eight seeded teams in round 16.

RWC Sevens 2022 will get going at 08:45 local time (GMT+2) on September 9 when the ninth seeded Ireland play Portugal in a bid to face England at the Round of 16.

Canada will then play Zimbabwe and winners playing France in the final match. Samoa will play Uganda in order to be a part of USA and Scotland play Jamaica with a round-of-16 fixture against the defending winners New Zealand the prize.

Kenya has been selected to play Tonga to have a chance to play Argentina and then Wales and Korea compete to decide if they can play Australia to play Australia in round 16. Hong Kong will then play Uruguay and the winner will play Fiji before Germany take on Chile for the chance to play South Africa in the final game of the day.

The women’s event will begin in the afternoon at 12.11 in local time (GMT+2) when the reigning Series winners and the top seeded, Australia face Madagascar. USA will then face the Rugby Europe Women’s Sevens champions Poland and Fiji, while Canada take on China and Fiji will face Japan.

Ireland will take on Brazil Ireland will then play Brazil, while England have been selected to play Spain. New Zealand will play Colombia at 17:37 local time, before the women’s round 16 closes with France play host South Africa.

What will HAPPEN on the days TWO and three?

Day two starts around 08:15 local time (GMT+2) in the Men’s Bowl quarter-finals. Then, the women’s and the men’s Challenge quarter-finals are played.

The men’s and women’s Championship quarter-finals are scheduled to begin at 19:07 local .

The Bowl and Challenge contests will end at the start of day three. Meanwhile, finals for the Championship Cup fifth-place semi-finals will start at 10:18 local .

At 12:07, the women’s Championship semi-final will begin, and will be followed by the male Championship semi-final.

The men’s and women’s Championship Bronze finals will be played from 19:01 local time The women’s game will be being played first.

A little over an hour later in the evening, at 20:17 local (GMT+2) The women’s Championship final will start and then an all-male Championship final at 20:54 local.

Complete match timetable >>

Where can I purchase tickets?

Tickets available for RWC Sevens 2022 were available for sale on the 28th of February on Ticketmaster Prices range between R150 ($9.90 or EUR8.65 PS7.30) PS7.30) as well as R1,750 ($115 USD 100 / PS85) and are selling out fast.

In order to make sure that you can access Cape Town Stadium all match tickets must only be purchased at There is a limit on tickets of 10 tickets per person, per day.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.